MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Luna’s Oatmeal – Healthy Start To A Healthy, Happy Day :)

on February 20, 2014

You can create your own oatmeal or porridge to you and your baby’s liking.  Be creative, as long as you keep it healthy.  I’ve been giving Luna this and other combinations of oatmeal, since she was around 5-6 months.   I give this particular oatmeal as part of Luna’s breakfast – Yes, part of!  My girl eats! This is actually the second part of her morning grazing routine. First, Luna and I split 4 egg whites and two yolks that are scrambled.  I leave for work and my mom feeds her a cup of this oatmeal with a tablespoon of cooked apple and a cup of blueberries (sometimes they’re frozen because that’s what Luna likes!)

Here’s what I do to make this:

I cook the oatmeal in three day batches to make life easier.  I also don’t measure, but guesstimate.  In a small pot I put around 3-4 cups of water and around 2 cups of rolled oats. Bring to slow boil and reduce to low heat for 15-20 minutes.  Continuously stir!  I pour the cooked oatmeal into a glass pyrex container and let cool.

Mix a 1/2 a cup of ground flax seeds, 1/2 cup chia seeds, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and combined into oatmeal once it has cooled.  Cover and refrigerate.

I peel and cut an apple into big pieces.  I boil the pieces until soft – about 15 -20 minutes. Poke with fork to see if tender.  Drain water and mash with a fork.  Store in a separate glass container.

When serving the cup of oatmeal, I then add 1 tablespoon to the oatmeal mixture.

This is a nutrient packed breakfast full of omega 3, fiber, lignans, iron, magnesium, calcium, potassium, and antioxidants,  is a great start for you and yours! 

Leave a Reply

