MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Adding More Healthy Fats To Luna’s Oatmeal

on April 6, 2014

Baby’s and Toddler’s with a rapidly developing brain NEED fat.  I try to keep adding as much healthy fat to my child’s food intake.  What better food to use? … The Macadamia Nut, ounce for ounce one of the most calorie-dense nuts containing the greatest amount of heart-healthy monounsaturated fat (MUFA) per serving.  Shown to lower LDL (bad cholesterol) levels and blood pressure too.  

What other food do I use? … The Brazil Nut, packing more than 100% of the daily value for the mineral selenium, which may help prevent certain cancers, including bone, prostate, and breast cancer. The Brazil nut, like the Macadamia Nut, is also calorie dense and high in MUFA’s.

What do I do with these nuts?! I take a small holed grater and grate one Brazil nut and one Macadamia nut into Luna’s oatmeal each morning.  Sometimes, I will grate a few walnuts in there too.  Mix it up and use different nuts.  Makes oatmeal tasty, high in healthy fat for that ever-growing brain and super healthy!

** Obviously, if your child has nut sensitivities do not do this!

** Normally, nuts are not introduced to a child’s food intake until one year.  I did give Luna nut butters on my finger tip when she was around 8 months – there was no reaction in my pregnancy or when I breast fed, so I thought it would be fine – but that is my experience.  

Keep yourself and your children healthy!

Leave a Reply

