MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Creatine and Why I’m Taking It

on June 16, 2014

I normally do not take any kind of supplementation, not even vitamins.  I add protein shakes to my daily meals and that’s about it.  I am on a mission to gain more muscle and get leaner.  Creatine will help with my goals, especially being soooo sleep deprived since Luna was born.  I’ve pretty much been exhausted for over two years now – this is the main reason I am going to try supplementing creatine.

Creatine is a supplement that is used to improve exercise ability for short-term and high-intensity workouts. The supplement is also used to treat creatine deficiencies. Creatine is made in the body and is found in certain foods like meat and fish.

Benefits of creatine:

* Creatine may be the most effective nutrient for overcoming the effects of sleep deprivation so that you can perform optimally*
* Allows you to perform high intensity workouts
* Enhances recovery – reduces muscle cell damage and inflammation following the intensive exercise
* Improves anaerobic capacity – significantly improved muscle volume and cycle sprint performance in elite power athletes in studies performed
* Enhances muscle volume – causes muscle cells to inflate and serves as a stimulus for protein synthesis
* Important neuroprotectant – increases the survival of nerve cells to environmental damage, improves brain function particularly short term memory
* Improves bone healing
* Improves glucose tolerance – may help with diabetes
* Helps reduce age related muscle loss
* Helps improves performance and muscle mass in vegetarians

I have started the “loading phase” tonight, taking 5mg and I will take 5mg again an hour before my workout tomorrow – I’ll do this for one week, then reduce dosage to just 5mg before workout.  I’ll let you know what I think and how my performance changes.

Set your goals and follow through – be determined, be focused, be strong in mind and body!

Leave a Reply

