MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Working Your Butt

on August 24, 2014

How do you get your butt to be high, round and bubble-like?  Well, FIRST you must have proper glute activation.  If your glutes aren’t firing properly, then you will not get the results you are working towards.

One of my favorites for activating glutes is the basic and foundational exercise of glute bridges seen in the first pic.  I make it my own version by adding a 25lbs-35lbs plate on my lower abs and hips.  However, if you are a beginner simply stick to the bridges and focus on really contracting those glute muscles at the top of the lift, even hold it for a 3 second count.  I normally do 4 sets of 25 reps.

My second exercise that I like to throw in on a non leg day is single leg push downs on the assisted pull-up/dip machine.  This isolates your glutes so well and you can hit the heavy weights on these 🙂  Again, I do 4 sets of 20 reps or more.

Of course, there are sooooo many exercises out there and will give you more in posts to come.

Stay strong in body and mind!

 

Leave a Reply

