MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Healthy Kids Snack, Fresh Juice and Fun In The Snow

on February 17, 2015

IMG_7554

Another snowy morning here in NY today, but the sun did come out for the rest of the day 🙂  I came home from work only to find Luna did not take a nap – ugh, she will become an emotional roller coaster around dinner time.  I had to tire her out!  We had lunch, me a huge salad with fresh turkey breast, carrots, avocado, tomatoes, apple cider vinegar and 1 tablespoon of olive oil – Luna had lentils, carrots from my salad, broccoli and quinoa pasta.

I normally make fresh orange juice for Luna every morning, but I didn’t have enough time today before work.  It doesn’t matter when she gets her fresh juice, as long as she gets it ;).  After lunch, I made Luna a fresh juice from these organic beauties:

1/2 pink grapefruit

2 oranges

1 lemon slice squeezed

1/4 cup water to dilute it a bit

Easy, cost-effective and packed with vitamins and minerals!

Time to tire Mz Luna out. We went to the playground across our street where there’s a huge field to run, run, run and play, play, play!  It actually felt warm out, even though it was ONLY 25F degrees! I’m a summer person and definitely tired of the snow and freezing temps here, but Luna made me laugh the other morning.  I told her it was super cold out and she said, “Whaaaat?! I was looking forward to a day at the pool and beach and eating watermelon and coconuts!”  She was completely serious too!  I guess she likes summer better too! 

Snack today after using up a lot of energy was one banana and one apple sliced as per Luna’s request, with Manuka honey on them.  Loaded with so many vitamins, fiber, antioxidants and Manuka with anti-viral & anti-bacterial properties.  Yep, this is what she asked for.  My kid all the way!  

Last but not least, my mid-afternoon snack today was an organic raw juice I picked up at Mrs. Greens.  

1 beet

2 apples

1 lemon

2 inch piece of fresh ginger

One of my favorite juices that you can make on your own with a juicer or high-speed blender like Vitamix.

Happy and healthy!

Leave a Reply

