MommyHealthiest

Nourishing body, mind, & soul.

Yummy Energy Bites!

on March 18, 2015

Helllooooo! I’m back! I hope you’re all doing great!!!  I definitely was not planning on not posting a thing for this long.  After Luna was sick with a high fever, I ended up getting hit with some ridiculous bug knocking me out for this long – ugh!  It started with my throat, but I managed to make that go away with various gargling of oil of oregano and alternating sea salt, along with drops of oil of oregano under my tongue.  But then, I woke up last Wednesday feeling like I got hit by a truck – severe exhaustion, fever, freezing chills, no appetite… I went to bed the entire day! This is highly unlike me because I am never in bed during the day and I always eat!  Ok, so I listened to my body and rested (not an easy task for me who is on the go ALL the time)…  Next day, no voice, I still had chills and fever – I went to work because I had to.  Next few days I had barely a voice, I had barely eaten a thing, still had chills and fever and now came the cough… This cough did not go away like the cough at a tail end of a cold.  Nooooo, this cough turned into bronchitis – yes, this is why I was sooo exhausted and had these crazy chills.  Needless to say, I did have to get antibiotics because even I know when to draw the line and not play with fire – pneumonia is not something I wanted this to turn into either!  I trippled up on my probiotic and will remain to do so for the next 2-3 weeks to maintain and establish my good gut flora because antibiotics destroy bad with the good.  I am on the mend and will be posting from this point on – I’m still not 100% and have yet to be back to my normal eating regiment.  I have definitely lost weight and muscle, which is sooo aggravating.  I know people try to lose weight, but not me – I want to look and feel strong and not be a skinny, little thing!   However, there’s that little thing called muscle memory which will allow me to gain back any losses sooner than later… Patience always, because you never know what life will throw your way 😉

I ALWAYS have a stash of these or other combination of ingredients in my fridge. Why?? Because it’s an amazingly, clean, healthy, satisfying bite of sweet energy without any crap. Great for us big kids and great for the little ones! Bliss balls, raw balls, power-balls, energy balls, energy bites or whatever you want to call these… It’s the same yummy snack! Here you go!

💟All ingredients organic

💟1 cup raw almonds
💟1/4 cup raw pistachio nuts
💟1 tablespoon raw sunflower seeds
💟10 Medjool dates soaked for 2-4 hours
💟Shredded coconut unsweetened
💟Cinnamon
〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰
💟Place nuts in processor and pulse for 30 seconds
💟Add dates and pulse until a ball forms
💟To make a raw ball, scoop out about 1 tablespoon (more or less) and roll into ball
💟Place shredded coconut into a plate
💟Place cinnamon into another plate
💟OR you can combine the two
💟Roll balls into coconut and cinnamon until completely coated all around
💟I made plain ones, ones coated with only coconut, ones coated with only cinnamon and ones coated with both
💟Place in sealed glass container and freeze
💟Now go snack 💖

Who cares if you eat 10 or more – they’re nuts & dates!

Happy and Healthy! 💖

Leave a Reply

